Cleaning up Linux journal

While reading up on a few random things, I stumbled across info on the Arch Wiki about how the system journal archives can get quite large, and may cause slowdowns. This is caused by a lack of limit in place for the size of journals stored. To my surprise, I had nearly 4GB of space taken up by system journals in /var/log/journal. I ran the following command to clear that up:

journalctl --vacuum-size=100M

This brought the size down to approximately 100MB. Along with this, I’ve set a limit to the journals, by editing the /etc/systemd/journald.conf:

SystemMaxUse=100M

Doing some testing this didn’t have any impact on my boot times, but it certainly didn’t hurt either.

Leave a Reply

